About Baseball - V


The Lipscomb Academy baseball program has a rich tradition of winning and development. Our goal for development is not simply what we do on the field but how we mold young men of Christ who will one day be husbands and fathers. The players and coaches compete for each other and glorify God in all we do.

We are a players-first program.  September through December, our players have the opportunity to refine their skills during our fall development program, a program including optional workouts focused on long toss, speed and agility. With top-notch facilities, coaching and passion, our players are given the best opportunities to develop their skills and have a chance to compete at the next level. On the field, we compete against the best Division II AA.


Brad Coon - Head Coach, Director of Player Development

Brad Coon was named head baseball coach and director of player development for Lipscomb Academy in November 2018. Prior to joining the coaching staff of the academy, Coon was drafted by the Los Angeles Angels in 2005 and continued to play eight seasons of professional baseball with four different organizations: Los Angeles Angels, Washington Nationals, Los Angeles Dodgers and Tampa Bay Rays. He was also the assistant baseball coach for Lipscomb University, a Division 1 Atlantic Sun Conference team. After growing up in Cleveland, Ohio, God led him to Nashville where he attended Trevecca University and met his wife Candice. They have 2 young girls that attend Lipscomb Academy.

Branden Cadavid: Varsity Assistant (Infield)  

Alex Dorso: Varsity Assistant (Pitching Coordinator)

Addison Alford: Varsity Assistant

Alex Moore: Varsity Assistant Coach

Ben Bleyle: JV Coach

Duncan Borders: 8th Grade Head Coach

David Graves: 7th Grade Head Coach



The Ernie Smith baseball field, located at the Lipscomb Academy Reese Smith Athletic Complex, was built in 1965 and has been renovated twice since completion. The field includes renovated dugouts and press box, a two-lane turfed brick bullpen, an indoor turfed cage and development area, and a baseball viewing deck located in center field. 

Bleacher capacity: 250


Championship Record: 34-15

Appearances (16): 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2005, 2004, 2001, 1998, 1986, 1985, 1983, 1982, 1981, 1980, 1978, 1977

Finals Appearances/Runners-up (10): 2011, 2008, 2005, 2001, 1998, 1986, 1982, 1980, 1978, 1977

Championships (7): 2011, 2005, 2001, 1998, 1986, 1982, 1978



Miller Green, Vanderbilt University 

Hunter High, University Tennessee

Elijah Verge, Georgetown College 

Bryant Loving, University North Alabama 


Braden Bornstein, Trevecca University

Andrew Davidson, Harding University

Will Dugan, Lipscomb University

Aden Napier, Trevecca University

Tyler Schrampf, Southwest Tennessee Community College


Alex Qualls, Volunteer State

Colton Taylor, Ottawa University


Houston High, Union University

Jack O'Dowd, Vanderbilt University


Elijah Patterson, Columbia State Community College

Vinny Romano, Adelphi University


Grant Rathburn, Kentucky Christian University


Ryan Emery, Arkansas State University

TJ Hoelzer, Lipscomb University


Clay Lehning, Lipscomb University


Taylor Merry, Lipscomb University


Jeff Baumgartner, Lipscomb University


Kyle Felts, Trevecca University

Matthew Griffith, Lipscomb University

Chris Parker, Lipscomb University

Scott Richardson, Texas Tech University


Larry Nesbitt, Lipscomb University


Steve Richardson, Texas Tech University

Wesley Wilkerson, Lipscomb University


Randy Bostic, Lipscomb University


John Boatman, Lipscomb University

Kurt Dugan, Lipscomb University


Neal Benson, Lipscomb University

Mike Dugan, Lipscomb University

Raymond Harvey, Lipscomb University

Jon Williams, Lipscomb University


Trey Hartman, Lipscomb University

Benton Patton, Lipscomb University


Mark Smith, Middle Tennessee State University


Ernie Smith, Lipscomb University